Youngstown State University Logo

News in the Chemistry Department


Congratulations to Dr. Delbene, for the Who’s Who Lifetime Achievement Award


Janet Elaine Delbene



Congratulations to all of the award winners from Chemistry.
American Chemical Society Award (Penn-Ohio Section)

Salam A. Picard
American Chemical Society Inorganic Division

Robert W. Voland
American Chemical Society Student Affiliates Award

Harley T. Parker
Dr. Eugene D. Scudder Graduate Student Teaching Award

Milica Zivak
Dr. Eugene D. Scudder Graduate Student Teaching Award

Tara L. Pickens
Dr. Eugene D. Scudder Organic Chemistry Award

Monther M. Nassar
Dr. Irwin Cohen Scholarship for Undergraduate Research in Chemistry

Jordan L. Zackasee
Dr. James A. and Patricia S. Reeder Graduate Scholarship

Alissa Geisse
Dr. Ralph E. Yingst Scholarship in Chemistry

Nicholas E. Matsukas
Friedrich and Eva-Maria Koknat Undergraduate Scholarship in Chemistry

Maranda C. Liogas
Friedrich and Eva-Maria Koknat Undergraduate Scholarship in Chemistry

Tristan J. Malvasia
Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh Award

Marc A. Harper
Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

Emilee Rogers
Dr. Eugene D. Scudder Physical Chemistry Award

Robert W. Voland
Friedrich W. & Eva Marie Koknat Graduate Award in Chemistry

MD Faruque Hasan
Friedrich W. & Eva Marie Koknat Graduate Award in Chemistry

Bernard L. Adjei


Congratulations to the Chemistry’s Distinguished Professor Awards – Dr.  Peter Norris (teaching), Dr. Balendiran and Dr. Genna (scholarship) and APAS Distinguished Service Award, Tim Styranec


Congratulations to Dr. Genna, being awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant totaling $293,943.  The award will fund a project entitled “RUI: Mechanistic Elucidation of the Formation of Secondary Building Units in Metal Organic Frameworks via Tandem Spectroscopic and Synthetic Approaches.”


Caleb Tatabe, Alumni Spotlight

Alumni Spotlight: Caleb Tatebe



An NIH award in the amount of $288,000 was awarded to the department.  Congratulations to Dr. Balindrian and his group.


The department would like to welcome Dr.  Chris Arnsten as  new physical chemistry assistant professor.

Faculty Faction: Dr. Christopher Arntsen


Dr. Delbene, Emeritus Faculty, has been recognized as a Selected Highly Prolific Author for the  Journal of Physical Chemistry.


Alumni Spotlight: Michael Bellas

Transforming the Future: Chemistry Graduate is Princeton-Bound


Congratulations to Bill Synder who is retiring from Adjunct teaching in the Chemistry Department after nearly ten years, after having spent 30 as a high school teacher.  Good luck Bill.


5/8/2017 :  Congratulations to Sam Mock, Mariah Defuria, Mike Bellas, Alissa Geisse, Allision Guerrieri, Breanna Naylor, Tyler Pabst, and Cassandra Shaffer for graduating with their bachelor degrees in chemistry at Spring Commencement

5/8/2017:   Congratulations to Cole Gasior for earning his MS in Chemistry

3/28/2017:  Congratulations to Dr. Moser for being awarded a 2017  Teaching Excellence Award

Congratulations to Dr. John Jackson for being awarded a Distinguished Professor in Teaching Award